October 6, 2016

U.S. states declared October 5, 2016 as Wallenberg Day

Since 2005, the International Raoul Wallenberg Foundation has campaigned to establish October 5th as Raoul Wallenberg Day throughout the United States. On October 5th 1981, Raoul Wallenberg, the Swedish diplomat who disappeared in January 1945 after saving the lives of tens of thousands persecuted people during World War II, became the second person in history to be awarded Honorary U.S. Citizenship. Raoul Wallenberg Day is commemorated every year in the State of New York and following the IRWF’s initiative, have been proclaimed in many other U.S. states.

This year 2016, we very much thank US Governors of the States of Arizona, Maryland, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico and Vermont for joining us again in this initiative. Some of them, are supporting us from the beginning of this campaign, and some are welcomed on this occasion (like Mississipi). To all of them we are truly grateful.

Take a look at them!

States this 2016, since 2005

Arizona * Maryland * Maine

Michigan * Mississippi * New Hampshire

New Jersey * New Mexico * Vermont


See complete U.S. list from 2005