January 13, 2014

January 2013

Romania Honors Baruch Tenenbaum for Defending the Memory of the Holocaust

The President of Romania, Traian Basescu, announced today the award of the National Order of Merit upon Argentinian Baruch Tenenbaum, founder of IRWF, for his defense of the memory of the Holocaust. According to the announcement the award is given “in appreciation for the strong moral and professionalism he has shown throughout his career, by his decisive contribution to promote the memory of the Holocaust and the Jewish heritage, as well as the preservation of the interfaith dialogue.”
To read more click here.

Polish Entrepreneur Honored with the Raoul Wallenberg Centennial Medal

Polish businessman Aleksander Gudzowaty, founder of the Tolerance Monument en Jerusalem has been awarded the Centennial Medal by the IRWF for “lifetime achievements aimed at the preservation of historical memory, respect and mutual understanding among peoples”. The Tolerance Monument is an outdoor sculpture unveiled in 2008 designed by Polish artist Czeslaw Dzwigaj. It is located in a park near the Goldman Promenade in Jerusalem. Aleksander Gudzowaty is creating a World Center of Tolerance in Jerusalem as part of a campaign to promote peace between Israelis and Palestinians.
To read more click here.


The IRWF co-sponsored the 26th Raoul Wallenberg Award Prize in Human Rights and Holocaust Studies
The award ceremony took place at the Itzhak Alfred Guttman Administration Building of the Tel Aviv University, on January 17, 2013, coinciding with the 68th anniversary of Raoul Wallenberg’s abduction by the Soviets. The 2013 Wallenberg Prize was funded by the IRWF and the Swedish Friends of Tel Aviv University. Prof. Dina Porat, Head of the Kantor Center for the Study of European Contemporary Jewry chaired the event. All the speakers, Prof. Porat, Prof. Rein, Ambassador Hammarskjold and Danny Rainer, stressed the symbolism of this award, and the importance of raising awareness to Raoul Wallenberg, the role model and the victim. The three award winners are Dr. Gunther Jikeli, Ms. Natalie Davidson and Mrs. Oren Feina.
To read more click here.


Message from the IRWF Chairman Mr. Eduardo Eurnekian

As a friend and supporter of our organization I wish you the best for 2013. At the same time, I take advantage of this opportunity to convey to you the latest news of the International Raoul Wallenberg Foundation (IRWF), an NGO that I am proud to chair thanks to the generous offer of Mr. Baruch Tenenbaum, founder of the IRWF and himself 2009 Nobel Peace nominee.
To read more click here.