November 1, 2008

Hungarian Holocaust Rescuer has received the Wallenberg Medal


Ms. Karolina Reszeli and her late mother, Zsuzsanna received the Raoul Wallenberg Women Rescuers Medal and the Esfira Maiman Women Rescuers Medal.

The recognitions were conveyed by the International Raoul Wallenberg Foundation, an educational NGO founded by Baruj Tenembaum. The ceremony took place on October 27th, at János Wesley University of Theology in Budapest.

The tribute acknowledges the mother and daughter brave humanitarian acts during the domination of German Nazis and their local collaborators. Continuously risking their lives, Zsuzsanna and Karolina provided shelter in their house for persecuted Jews, among them for Steven Colman, today an Australian citizen, and his mother.

The speakers of the event were:

Mr. Steve Colman, rescued by Karolina Reszeli; Mr. Gábor Iványi, Rector of the János Wesley University, former Member of the Hungarian Parliament and host of the event; Mr. György Kaiser, Managing Director of the Hungarian Raoul Wallenberg Association; Mr. József Szécsi, catholic theologian, Secretary General of the Hungarian Jewish-Christian Society; Mr. Ferenc Orosz, representative of the International Raoul Wallenberg Foundation; Mr. Domingo Cullen, Ambassador of the Republic of Argentina accredited to Hungary.

The medals and diplomas were handed by Mr. György Kaiser and by Mr. Ferenc Orosz.

To ceremony was also attended by:

Mr. Péter Feldmájer and Mr. Gusztáv Zoltai, President and Director General of the Alliance of Jewish Communities of Hungary; Mr. Tibor Iványi, Inspector General of the Evangelical Brotherhood of Hungary; Mr. Jeff Levine and Mr. Steven Fisher diplomats of the Embassy of the United States of America and of the United Kingdom; representatives of the Israeli and of the Australian Embassies, friends of the Reszeli and of the Colman families and representatives of the press.

Following the ceremony Ms. Reszeli and Mr. Colman Steve enjoyed a pleasant conversation with the guests during a reception given by the Wesley College.

The ceremony was broadcasted by ”Duna” Television Channel.