January 13, 2014

June 2013

“Raoul Wallenberg Centennial Medal” to Gordon Brown

The IRWF presented the Raoul Wallenberg Centennial Medal to Gordon Brown, former Prime Minister of the United Kingdom. Brown was awarded for his commitment to the preservation of historical memory and for promoting the legacy of Raoul Wallenberg and other rescuers of the Holocaust. The ceremony took place on June 27, 2013, and was held at the Residence of the Swedish Ambassador.  A number of Holocaust survivors and rescuers were in attendance, including Sir Nicholas Winton, who saved 669 Czech children before the outbreak of the war.
To read more click here.


Samuel Pisar Received the “Raoul Wallenberg Centennial Medal”

Samuel Pisar, prominent international lawyer, UNESCO Honorary Ambassador and Holocaust survivor, was awarded the “Raoul Wallenberg Centennial Medal” for his role in the transmission of the lessons of the Holocaust to the younger generations. The ceremony took place on June 24, 2013 at the Embassy of Sweden in Paris.  “Samuel Pisar inspires all the people of good will who are convinced that this world can be worth living in peace, harmony and respect. Both his life achievements and his literary production are a priceless legacy for present and future generations,” said the IRWF’s Chairman Eduardo Eurnekian in his opening speech.

To read more click here.


Sir Nicholas Winton, British Holocaust Rescuer was Honored in London

The IRWF bestowed the “Raoul Wallenberg Centennial Medal” upon Sir Nicholas Winton, Holocaust savior, who rescued and saved from certain death over six hundred Jewish children from Czechoslovakia.  A special ceremony was held at the Embassy of Sweden in London. In his speech, the IRWF’s Chairman Eduardo Eurnekian said: “Sir Nicholas Winton risked his comfortable position as a stockbroker and initiated an operation that any sensible person would have qualified as impossible. “
To read more click here.


Pope John XXIII Private Secretary Distinguished by the IRWF

Loris Francesco Capovilla, personal secretary and friend of Pope John XXIII was awarded with the “Raoul Wallenberg Centennial Medal.” The ceremony took place on June 25, 2013, in Sotto il Monte Giovanni XXIII, in Italy. The award to Monsignor Capovilla, 97, acknowledges his contribution to keep the memory of Pope John XXIII alive for over half a century. Eduardo Eurnekian and Baruch Tenenbaum, president and founder of the IRWF, attended the ceremony.
To read more click here

Prime Minister of Australia Shares Historic Announcement with the IRWF

At a proposal of the IRWF, Prime Minister of Australia, Julia Gillard, made ​​a special videotaped announcement of the decision to grant honorary citizenship to Raoul Wallenberg. “The lives of those he rescued are Mr. Wallenberg’s greatest memorial and Australia is honored to have survivors he rescued living in Australia today,” said Prime Minister Gillard in a statement.  Raoul Wallenberg thus became the first person ever to receive the Australian honorary citizenship.
To read more click here and here.